

MEDIA RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Council petitions State for second Cook Shire electoral division

April 5, 2019 COOKTOWN

Cook Shire Council has applied to the State Government to create a second electoral division in the vast Shire, following a positive response to a community survey.

The survey, circulated to Shire residents last month, had three options: for Cook Shire to retain its current undivided status; to include a new Northern Division encompassing communities from Musgrave north, with a dedicated Councillor for that division; or to include a new North Western Division, encompassing communities including Palmer River, Lakeland, Laura and Coen, with two dedicated Councillors for the Division. "The overwhelming majority of respondents wanted a second North Western Division represented by two Councillors, and that is the proposal we have put to the State," Cook Shire Council Chief Executive Officer Linda Cardew said. "A second division would enable more effective and equitable representation and community engagement, and demonstrates Council's commitment to good governance."

The proposed North Western Division would include Palmer River, Lakeland, Laura and Coen and cover an area of approximately 86,000 square kilometres. The remainder of the Shire would become the South Eastern Division, comprising Cooktown, Rossville, Ayton and Bloomfield. The number of councillors representing the Shire would remain the same, with four based in the South Eastern Division, two in the North Western Division, and the Mayor. A detailed application has been sent to Minister for Local Government Stirling Hinchliffe.

For more information contact Ms Cardew via email to <u>mail@cook.qld.gov.au</u> or phone on 4069 5444.

~ end ~